Thepanch's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

To The Victor The Spoils

leave a comment »

We’ve all been looking for a scapegoat. Someone to hang the problems of the country onto around his grubby neck, but we have all been looking under the wrong rocks and crooks. We should have been looking to the South of America, Texas and to be geographically accurate Southfork Texas. JR Ewing. The original TV bastard. Here’s just a summarised list of his quotes:
(To Sue Ellen): “Well, I’ll be damned if you can come in here any time you want and use me like a stud service!!”
(To Lucy): “Why don’t you have that junior plastic surgeon you had build you a new face. One without a mouth!!”
“Well Ray was never comfortable eating with the family. We do use knives and forks after all.”
“The only thing that is screwed up in this office Barnes is your head, which I would be more than happy to serve on a silver platter if I weren’t worried about my family getting food poisoning!”
“Don’t forgive and never forget; Do unto others before they do unto you; and third and most importantly, keep your eye on your friends, because your enemies will take care of themselves!”
JR Ewing. As I said, the original TV bastard. And as I watched the reports of Larry Hagman’s death last week, I got to thinking. Dallas must have been stuck on repeat in Seanie Fitzpatrick’s house and the VCR must have been burnt out in Sean Quinns. You can just picture them as young upstarts watching JR. That’s for me ma, that’s the life. I’ll squeeze what I can out of the little folks and see where it gets me!!
So, if you’re looking for a scapegoat, aim your eyes away from the Dail and aim them towards Southfork Texas. JR, you have a lot to answer for…..

Written by thepanch

February 7, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Posted in Thoughts, Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

